Monday 22 August. Day 23. Saint Diziers to Froncles. 58km

image

Canal – Autigny Le Grand

image

Canal – Thonnance les Joinville

image

Froncles

image

Camp at Froncles. Beside river

Monday 22 August. Saint Dizier to froncles (very nice camp ground by the river cascades) 54km
Was late getting out of hotel this morning as taking the opportunity of better wifi to get blog up to date. Then went to “decathlon” the outdoors shop cos it was just across the road. They didn’t have the map I needed but I bought a cap as you don’t have to wear a helmet in france so I don’t when I’m off the road.
Today was totally on the Marne canal cycle track. All sealed but not 100% smooth. Very pretty country with swiftly flowing Marne river often nearby, thick forests on the hillsides and charming farms dotted along the way. The villages are tucked back up the hillsides. Chatted with a nice couple from Zimbabwe who are canal touring on a boat.
I was to go stay at a Warmshowers host but after 56km my back was hurting too much. so at 5.30pm when I saw a delightful campground next to some falls in the river I swung in.
After setting up and showering I cycled over bridge into village of frontels but not one shop open. The “carrefors” grocery shop normally open till 8pm. But closed today for family business,, luckily I had a boiled egg from breakfast and a banana. Chatted to middle age young man from Netherlands (160km/day). Then a nice couple from Belgium.
I have a tourist map of the region “La Haute-Marne en Champagne”. It’s an area one could spend some time in. It’s very pretty with rivers, forests and lakes plus lots of historical places. But I am intrigued that at the end of August (round about now) I must not miss the “Hunting and Nature Pleasure Salon”!!! I wonder where I find this “Salon” – no specific details are given.

Leave a comment