Thursday 1 sept.Orsieres to Col de St Bernard (pilgrims hostel)26km (all up!)

 

 

 

 

image

Starting out on the road from Orsieres. I was soon looking down onto this imposing rock face. 

image

This is the view DOWN from the edge of the road!!

image

The terrifying tunnels. Check out the shoulder of the road (nil!!) which means when two trucks pass you are almost sucked underneath. 

image

As the prohibited tunnel went under the mountain (off to the left), the quieter road continued to the Col. 

image

And up and up

image

Map and directions on my front pannier

image

Those dots down on the track are cattle with their bells ringing. Bit steep!! Vertigo looking over edge of road. No rails!!

image

Just as old pilgrims church (and rubbish bins) came into view and the up and up is over 

image

Old pilgrims church

image

Dependable outside the pilgrims hostel. Hotel off to the left and restaurant visible under overpass. 

image

One if at least four dining rooms in the hostel  not just for pilgrims  

Thursday 1 September. Orsieres (900m) to col St. Bernard (2469m) (pilgrims hostel) 26km ALL UPHILL!!
The Terminus Hotel had been a great respite. And provided a nice breakfast. the bread, cheese and ham plus the yoghurt I stashed for lunch. Croissant and coffee I enjoyed. The road was quiet to start with but traffic built up then there was about 5km of mostly open, but some closed in, tunnels which were horrendous. The vehicle noise bounced off the roof so it sounded like locomotives coming from both directions. I walked the bike as the route was gently uphill and the road had no shoulder, a rough edge to the road and safety barriers that if my panniers hit against them they slewed me sideways. The only respite was finding the occasional gap in the railing and a sunny grassy patch. Ate my lunch and face-timed both girls. Then the traffic entered a closed tunnel under the mountain and I was on the old road up to the Col de St Bernard. 6.5 km of steep up and up. So I just walked the whole way. Heard the rocky streams, the birds, the cow bells. Except when the noisy scary motor bikes went raging past. Two touring cyclists passed me (young guys on mountain bikes, not much gear). The Last 6kms up. I was Just counting down the 1/3km, 1/2. Km. Got to col at about 5.30pm. Pretty exhausted. Had some vague notion of a hospice up here but was surprised at the size. They asked if I had a booking and said they were full. But they must have taken pity on seeing my exhausted demeanour as they found me the “last bed” in a 4 bed dorm.
As usual, the first thing is a shower, the facilities (across the corridor) are all new but I was a bit alarmed when in the middle of my shower the light went off (bloody timer thing). There was no window and not a skerrick of light except that from the numbers on my watch. I had a moment of panic wondering if I’d get disoriented and probably just be there forever!
Anyway. I found timer. Light and sanity were restored.
Dinner in boarding school like dining room. Three courses cooked by the church people. Delicious. Early to bed

 

2 Responses to Thursday 1 sept.Orsieres to Col de St Bernard (pilgrims hostel)26km (all up!)

  1. Nan Shiels says:

    Your posts get more inspiring every day- Sal. I was breathless just reading and imagining that drop off the side of the road. Love that humanity won out and they gave you a bed! St Christopher is alive and well on the mountain- long may he keep looking after you! Nan

    • alleycat054 says:

      Hi Nan. You give great support and feedback. I’m often giving myself a Nan talking to “head up, shoulders back, relax, light fingers, lift feet”!! Hope all’s well with you at home. Sx p

      Sent from Sally’s iPhone

      >

Leave a comment